Skip to Content

New Grand Juries Sworn In 10/20

New Grand Juries Sworn In 10/20

(Cleveland) – The Cuyahoga County Common Pleas Court has sworn-in three new grand juries, which began service this month and will meet through mid-January.


Common Pleas Court judges can appoint a foreperson for each grand jury.  For this current session, Judge Deena Calabrese appointed Allen Poslet of Strongsville. The members of Judge Maureen Clancy’s grand jury selected Aimee Herman of Parma Heights to be their foreperson. Judge Cassandra Collier-Williams appointed David Dews of Bratenahl.


Grand juries consist of 14 citizens selected from the public. During these proceedings, which are not open to the public by law, only the Cuyahoga County Prosecutor’s office presents witnesses and evidence.


The Grand Jury then decides if probable cause exists that a felony has been committed. If so, an indictment is returned and filed with the Clerk of Courts office, commencing formal criminal proceedings against the defendant.


The panels are meeting twice a week.